NuttX on a Netduino Plus 2; trial 2, on a Teensy++

OK, this has nothing to do with Netduino Plus 2, but it is a step I took to further validate my build process, so I am logging it nonetheless in the interest of completeness.

I wanted to verify that my build product (firmware image) is sane, and ideally had no modifications of my own that would ambiguate the origin of any failure, so I rummaged for a board that is already supported, that I had on-hand.  I do have an STM32F4Discovery, but for some reason I didn’t want to use that, and I found that I had a Teensy++, so why no?

This uses a different processor, one of the very popular Atmel lineage, so I needed a different toolchain:

sudo apt-get install gcc-avr gdb-avr avr-libc

then configure:

make distclean
cd tools
./configure.sh teensy/nsh
cd ..
. ./setenv.sh

then ‘make menuconfig’, and change ‘system type, toolchain’ to ‘linux gcc’

Then you need a firmware installer from the Teensy site; I use the command line one.  Goodbye blinky, hello Nuttx.  I use my handy FTDI serial adapter configured to 38400,N81, and connect to the board’s PD2(RXD1) and PD3(TXD1), oh and GND, and open Putty on the com port, and then apply power to the board:

NuttShell (NSH) NuttX-6.27

yay.  I run ‘help’ but the output looks weird.  At length, I find an option in menuconfig:

‘application configuration, examples, nuttshell, library routines’, and I DEselect ‘disable sprintf field width’, rebuild, redeploy, reboot, rerun ‘help’:

NuttShell (NSH) NuttX-6.27
nsh> help
help usage:  help [-v] [<cmd>]

  ?           dd          free        ls          ps          unset
  cat         echo        help        mb          pwd         usleep
  cd          exec        hexdump     mh          set         xd
  cp          exit        kill        mw          sleep
nsh>

Now that looks sane.  But this is the end of Teensy++ and me for the time being, now to get on with Netduino Plus 2 porting in earnest….

Leave a Reply

